If you have been used to access Collaborate Ultra your module should have a link to access it. If you are unsure where this is, contact your tutor to find out where they have put the link. Once you have located the link, you will see the Course Room. Unless instructed otherwise, this is where you go to access Collaborate. Click once on Course Room, and then once on Join Course Room.
Accessing a Collaborate Session
The first time you access the Course Room, you will be prompted if Collaborate can access your microphone and webcam. If you don’t have either of these, simply click Don’t Allow. Once you have granted (or otherwise) permission to microphones and webcams, you will be in the Course Room.
If anyone else is in the room, you will see them in the main panel. At the bottom of the screen, you will see four icons. From left to right, these are:
- General User Panel
- This gives you access to rate the performance of the session with regards to the quality of the software.
- Share Audio
- By default, this is disabled even if you granted access. Should you wish to talk verbally, click the microphone icon and your microphone will be enabled. Your tutor will guide you on this.
- Share Video
- By default, this is also disabled. Should you wish others to see you (assuming you have a webcam), click the icon to enable it.
- Raise Hand
- By clicking this icon, a notification will be sent to the moderator (presumably your course tutor) that you have a question.
The collaborate panel allows you to text chat to other participants. In the bottom right of the screen, there is an icon with two arrows pointing left. Click this to open the Collaborate panel.
At the bottom of the Collaborate panel, you will see four icons:
- When you open the Collaborate panel, this is where you are placed.
- The first time you try this, you should see a panel that says Everyone. Click this to open the chat room. You can now type a message in the box at the bottom that says “Say something”. When you press Enter, your text message will be displayed in the room.
- This shows you a list of all the people in the chat room. Students are generally in the space as Participants, and course tutors are Moderators.
- Should you wish to share some work, your tutor will need to change your role to Presenter.
- Share Content
- If you are enrolled in the room as a Presenter, you can share content.
- If you are a Presenter, you can share a whiteboard, share your screen or share a file (images, PowerPoints or PDFs)
- To stop sharing, click the white circle with a small square in it (when you hover your mouse over it, it’ll say Stop Sharing)
- You can change your Audio and Video settings. This allows you to control the volume as well as some settings for both devices.
- Notification Settings allow you to control the level of notifications that you get from Collaborate.
Click the X in the purple icon to close the Collaboration panel.
Leaving the session
When you have finished the Collaborate session, click the icon in the top left of the screen – it’s the one that has three horizontal lines. This opens the Session Menu.
In the Session Menu, you can now see the option to Leave Session. Click this and you will now be out of the room. You can now close the browser tab.